Call for the realization of the catalog raisonné of

MARTINE DOYTIER (1947-1984)

Help us to find her artworks

An artist's catalog raisonné is a complete inventory of his or her artistic production. It is an indispensable reference document for a good knowledge of the artist. It reproduces the works, describes them, and indicates their location and mentions - with the agreement of their owners - the belonging to collections, private or public.
Martine Doytier (1947-1984) worked between 1971 and 1984. Her main means of expression was painting, but she also produced an animated sculpture, an engraving, artworks in terracotta, and numerous drawings. Her work is poorly documented and, after her death, did not give rise to major exhibitions. Her collectors are rarely identified and her work as an artist is still too little known.
Producing her catalog raisonné with the necessary scientific rigor would contribute to commenting on and enriching the knowledge and understanding of her work. But, to do so, we must first gather a lot of information.
An appeal is therefore launched to all those who hold documents or information that would allow us to find the works of this artist. Of the many dozens of paintings by Martine Doytier, only about forty are currently known and identified and about half of them are located.
Help us to make this artist, whose work has fascinated all those who have approached her, better known! If her last three works are now part of the collection of the Museums of the City of Nice thanks to the Ferrero Donation, it is important that a large exhibition complement them with works from different periods, with their studies and preparatory sketches.
We therefore count on you, your contribution is essential to bring this material together. You can also help us by participating in the diffusion of this message and call.
Thank you in advance for the invaluable help you may be able to give us! Of course, if you wish, it is with great pleasure that we will keep you informed of the works in progress as well as future exhibitions of Martine Doytier's works.
Any information or request for information should be addressed to:
catalogue.martinedoytier@gmail.com
+33 6 08 91 56 24
And if you want to know more about Martine Doytier:
Here is an Instagram account that brings together her works known to date



Brief Biography

Martine Doytier was born in Clichy in 1947. It is at the age of twenty that she decided to settle in Nice and devote her to painting. Artistic self-taught but gifted with a great talent as a draftswoman and colorist, her very first paintings are immediately the reflection of a rich, surprising and often offbeat mental and narrative universe.
Her first exhibition took place in 1971 in Flayosc, in the Var region of France. It was organized by Frédéric Altmann who was his dealer for several years and immediately met with great success. Each of the eighteen paintings she presents tells a story with a corrosive humor. Her childlike characters are intriguing and, like mimetic dolls, their invariably black eyes reflect the depth of the artist's gaze.
Martine Doytier's paintings often deal with herself, but she also offers a reading of those around her that she knows how to capture in a way that is both acidic and tender. The faces of those she paints almost always face the viewer and all of them question and unveil a little of their intimate drama, sometimes grimacing a slight smile. In 1969 her little boy named Brice was born. He will very often be present in her paintings: riding his trottinette, visiting the zoo, watching the dog-shearer, dancing at the Carnival or wearing a judoka outfit, very often with his little dog Mec-Mec or his big dog Urane.
Martine Doytier's pictorial world is precise, thorough, clean and without appeal. As the years go by and exhibitions follow one another, her technique asserts itself and develops to the point of astonishment. Success is always there and all the works, without exception, are immediately acquired by eager collectors.
"The Facteur Cheval", a painting whose execution seems to be a feat of prowess - just like the Palais Idéal of the one it deals with - earned him the Fondation de la Vocation Award in 1977. Winner of the Prize, she was received at the Élysée Palace by the French President and her recognition grew, even if it was limited to the region where she lived.
In Nice, the very young Museum of Prehistory of Terra-Amata commissioned a painting from her to make its poster and the cover of its catalog; then it was the Nice Carnival that gave her complete freedom to make her official poster for 1981, a poster that would be used again for the Centenary of the Carnival, in 1984. The previous year, in 1983, to celebrate the Centenary of the Nice's Urban Transports (TN), the City of Nice asked her to paint an urban bus. Through a fake painted tear, Martine humorously reveals improbable mechanical entrails. This bus has been circulating in the streets of the city for a long time and for several years has been part of the collection of the Écomusée du Haut-Pays et des Transports de Breil-sur-Roya where it is kept in perfect condition.
At the beginning of the eighties, Martine Doytier is a recognized artist. She can afford the luxury of taking months to paint a single work without any constraint. Since her beginnings, she never had to worry about selling her works, but from 1978, she benefited from the material support of a true patron of the arts: the gallery owner Jean Ferrero, better known for his great talent in doing business with artists. However, with Martine Doytier, from whom he bought almost all the production between 1978 and 1984, he never resold her works and therefore never made any money. This was not his goal and he would prove it later by donating all of Martine Doytier's works that he acquired to the City of Nice.
Her last years are characterized by the realization of rare works in which Martine Doytier invests herself totally. If the prowess may seem technical, in the end it is of little importance to her. Of course, the large canvases are painted with tiny illuminator's brushes and the surface of the work is so full that the eye gets lost in it, but it is something else that she is looking for. What fascinates her is the total immersion, the plunge into the infinity of the subject and the unfinishable character of her new way of approaching painting. Her "Self-Portrait", a monumental triptych painted between 1982 and 1984, testifies to the way she perfects every square millimeter painted, while the surrounding emptiness seems all the more immense and disturbing.
It will be a bit of this emptiness that will engulf the artist on a sad day in 1984. For, unfortunately, at the height of her glory as an artist, at the height of her human apprehension of the works she was relentlessly producing, Martine Doytier chose to stop everything and decided to put an end to her life, a gesture that would be implemented with the same panache and mastery that characterized every moment of her life.
It was a February 16th. A life stopped too soon. An artist disappeared too quickly.
Since that dark day, very little has been done for Martine Doytier and her work. The Museums of Nice regularly present her works from the Donation Ferrero and the small Martine Doytier Garden faces the entrance of the Art School of the Villa Arson, on the heights of the city of Nice.
It is therefore time to go further. It is time, for example, to bring together all of Martine Doytier's work in a catalog raisonné, to comment and criticize it. It is time to write a biography of this outstanding artist and thus try to better understand why her painting has always fascinated. And it is time to generously expose her paintings, to confront them to other stories and to offer them new encounters.
This is what is being undertaken today and, first of all, it is the search for the information necessary to locate all the works painted between 1971 and 1984 that is being undertaken. A small part has already been identified, but many of them remain to be discovered. We need to collect the testimonies of those who knew Martine Doytier and whose memories will be important to write the true story of this artist in the most documented and relevant way possible in order to shed light on both her work and her life so rich and committed.
A publication, book or catalog, will complete the exhibition of the works and documents, all unpublished, that helped in the preparation of the works and that will enrich the understanding of them: sketches, drawings, handwritten notes, reference documents, photographs of current states, objects, etc.
Together with Alain Amiel, author and editor, Bertrand Roussel, director of the Nice Archaeology Museums, and who will soon, we hope, be joined by other friends of Martine Doytier, we will make sure to give this work the place it deserves in the History of Art.
So you will hear about us!
But, above all, you will hear about Martine Doytier!
Marc Sanchez
September 2020

The association "Les Ami-es de Martine Doytier" has just been created,
to join, click here



Press Kit

> Press documents to download:
- Press release in pdf (content identical to this page)
- Text of the press release in Word format
> Photographs on request at:
- catalogue.martinedoytier@gmail.com
- +33 6 08 91 56 24
Next Page

 

 

 

 

Martine Doytier in 1977. Photo DR.
Martine Doytier, Elephants at the Roseland Abbey, 1983, oil on canvas.
Private Collection, Nice.
Martine Doytier, Self-Portrait,
1983-1984, oil on canvas, detail.
Martine Doytier during her exhibition
at the Gallery L'Art Marginal in Nice,
February 20, 1978. Photo DR.
Martine Doytier at work in 1979.
Photo Marc Sanchez.
Martine Doytier at the
Fondation de la Vocation Awards,
Paris, December 6, 1977. Photo DR.
Martine Doytier and the painting used
to make the official poster of the Nice Carnival in 1981. Photo DR.

Click here for english version


Appel pour la réalisation du catalogue raisonné de

MARTINE DOYTIER (1947-1984)

Aidez-nous à retrouver ses œuvres

Le catalogue raisonné d’un·e artiste constitue l’inventaire complet de sa production artistique. Il est un document de référence indispensable à la bonne connaissance de l'artiste. Il reproduit les œuvres, les décrit, indique leur localisation et mentionne – avec l’accord de leurs propriétaires – l’appartenance aux collections, privées ou publiques.
Martine Doytier (1947-1984) a travaillé entre 1971 et 1984. Son moyen d'expression principal a été la peinture mais elle a également réalisé une sculpture animée, une gravure, des oeuvres en terre cuite et de nombreux dessins. Son œuvre est peu documentée et, après son décès, n'a pas donné lieu à d'importantes expositions. Ses collectionneurs sont rarement identifiés et son travail d’artiste est encore trop mal connu.
Réaliser son catalogue raisonné avec la rigueur scientifique nécessaire contribuerait à commenter et enrichir la connaissance et la compréhension de l’œuvre. Mais, pour cela, il nous faut d’abord réunir de nombreuses informations.
Un appel est donc lancé à tous ceux qui détiendraient des documents ou des informations permettant de retrouver les œuvres de cette artiste. Sur les nombreuses dizaines de tableaux peints par Martine Doytier, seule une quarantaine est actuellement connue et identifiée et environ la moitié d'entre-eux sont localisés.
Aidez-nous à mieux faire connaître cette artiste dont le travail a fasciné tous ceux qui l’ont approchée ! Si ses trois dernières œuvres sont à présent intégrées à la collection des Musées de la Ville de Nice grâce à la Donation Ferrero, il est important qu’une large exposition les complète par des œuvres de différentes époques, par leurs études et leurs croquis préparatoires.
Nous comptons donc sur vous, votre contribution est essentielle pour réunir cette matière. Vous pouvez également nous aider en participant à la diffusion de ce message et de cet appel.
Toute information ou demande de renseignements est à adresser à :

catalogue.martinedoytier@gmail.com

+33 6 08 91 56 24
D'avance, nous vous remercions pour l'aide inestimable que vous allez peut-être nous apporter ! Bien sûr, si vous le désirez, c'est avec grand plaisir que nous vous tiendrons informé·e·s de l'avancement du travail en cours ainsi que des futures expositions des œuvres de Martine Doytier.
Et si vous voulez en savoir plus sur Martine Doytier :

Voici un compte Instagram qui réunit ses œuvres connues à ce jour

Biographie succincte de Martine Doytier

Martine Doytier est née à Clichy en 1947. C'est à l’âge de vingt ans qu'elle décide de s’installer à Nice et de se consacrer à la peinture. Autodidacte artistique mais douée d’un grand talent de dessinatrice et de coloriste, ses toutes premières peintures sont aussitôt le reflet d’un univers mental et narratif riche, surprenant et souvent décalé.
Sa première exposition a lieu en 1971 à Flayosc, dans le Var. Elle est organisée par Frédéric Altmann qui sera son marchand pendant plusieurs années et, immédiatement, elle rencontre un grand succès. Chacune des dix-huit peintures qu’elle y présente raconte une histoire à l’humour corrosif. Ses personnages au corps enfantin intriguent et, tels de mimétiques poupées, leur regard invariablement noir renvoie à la profondeur de celui de l’artiste.
C’est bien souvent d’elle-même dont Martine Doytier traite dans ses tableaux, mais elle propose aussi une lecture de ceux qui l'entourent et qu’elle sait saisir d’une manière à la fois acide et tendre. Les visages de celles et ceux qu'elle peint font presque toujours face au spectateur et tous questionnent et dévoilent un peu de leur drame intime en grimaçant parfois un maigre sourire. En 1969 est né son petit garçon prénommé Brice. Il sera très souvent présent dans ses tableaux : faisant de la trottinette, en visite au zoo, en spectateur chez le tondeur de chiens, en danseur de Carnaval ou en tenue de judoka, parfois avec son petit chien Mec-Mec ou avec sa grande chienne Urane.
Le monde pictural que propose Martine Doytier est précis, fouillé, net et sans appel. Au fur et à mesure que les années passent et que les expositions se succèdent, sa technique s’affirme et se développe jusqu’à l’étonnement. Le succès est toujours au rendez-vous et toutes les œuvres, sans exception aucune, sont acquises aussitôt peintes par des collectionneurs empressés.
« Le Facteur Cheval », un tableau dont l’exécution semble tenir de la prouesse - tout comme le Palais de celui dont il traite - lui valut de remporter le Prix de la Fondation de la Vocation en 1978. Lauréate du Prix, elle est reçue à l’Élysée par le Président de la République et sa reconnaissance va grandissante, même si elle reste souvent circonscrite à la région où elle vit.
À Nice, le tout jeune Musée de Préhistoire de Terra-Amata lui commande un tableau pour en faire son affiche et la couverture de son catalogue, puis c’est le Carnaval de Nice qui lui donne toute liberté pour réaliser son affiche officielle de l’année 1981, une affiche qui sera reprise pour le Centenaire du Carnaval, en 1984. L'année précédente, en 1983, pour célébrer un autre centenaire, celui des Transports Urbains niçois (TN), la Ville de Nice lui avait demandé de peindre un autobus urbain. Par une fausse déchirure peinte, Martine Doytier révèle avec humour des entrailles mécaniques improbables. Cet autobus a longtemps circulé dans les rues de la ville et, à présent, il fait partie de la collection de l'Écomusée du Haut-Pays et des Transports de Breil-sur-Roya où il est conservé en parfait état.
Au début des années quatre-vingt, Martine Doytier est une artiste reconnue. Elle peut s’offrir le luxe de mettre des mois à peindre un seul tableau sans contrainte aucune. Depuis ses débuts, elle n’avait jamais eu à se préoccuper de la vente de ses œuvres mais, à partir de 1978, elle bénéficie du soutien matériel d’un véritable mécène : le galeriste Jean Ferrero, plus connu pour son grand talent à faire des affaires avec les artistes. Pourtant, avec Martine Doytier, à qui il achète quasiment toute la production entre 1978 et 1984, il ne revendra jamais ses œuvres et ne gagnera donc jamais d’argent. Ce n'est pas son but et il le prouvera plus tard en faisant donation à la Ville de Nice de toutes les œuvres de Martine Doytier qu'il a acquises.
Ses dernières années sont caractérisées par la réalisation de rares œuvres dans lesquelles Martine Doytier s’investit totalement. Si la prouesse peut sembler technique, cela compte finalement assez peu pour elle. Bien sûr, les grandes toiles sont peintes avec de minuscules pinceaux d’enlumineur et la surface de l’œuvre est si pleine que le regard s’y perd, mais c’est autre chose qu’elle recherche. Ce qui la passionne, c'est l’immersion totale, la plongée dans l’infini du sujet et le caractère inachevable de sa façon nouvelle d’aborder la peinture. Son « Autoportrait », triptyque monumental peint entre 1982 et 1984, témoigne de la façon qu’elle a de parfaire chaque millimètre carré peint alors que le vide alentour en paraît d’autant plus immense et inquiétant.
C'est un peu de ce vide qui engloutit l’artiste un triste jour de l’année 1984. Car, malheureusement, au plus haut de sa gloire d’artiste, au plus fort de son appréhension humaine des œuvres qu'elle produit avec acharnement, Martine Doytier choisit de tout arrêter et décide de mettre fin à ses jours, un geste qu'elle mis en scène avec le même panache et la même maîtrise qui ont caractérisé chacun des moments de sa vie.
C’était un 16 février. Une œuvre s’arrête trop tôt. Une artiste disparait trop vite.
Depuis ce sombre jour, bien peu a été fait pour Martine Doytier et pour son œuvre. Les Musées de Nice présentent régulièrement ses œuvres de la Donation Ferrero et le petit Jardin Martine Doytier fait face à l’entrée de l’École d’Art de la Villa Arson, sur les hauteurs de la ville de Nice.
Il est donc temps d’aller plus loin. Il est temps, par exemple, de réunir toute l’œuvre de Martine Doytier en un catalogue raisonné, de la commenter et de la critiquer. Il est temps d’écrire la biographie de cette artiste hors normes et de tenter ainsi de mieux saisir pourquoi sa peinture a toujours fasciné. Et il est temps d’exposer avec générosité cette peinture, de la confronter à d’autres histoires et de lui proposer de nouvelles rencontres.
C’est ce qui est entrepris aujourd’hui et, tout d’abord, c'est la recherche des informations nécessaires à la localisation de toutes les œuvres peintes entre 1971 et 1984 qui est engagée. Une petite partie est déjà identifiée mais beaucoup restent encore à découvrir. Il nous faut recueillir les témoignages de celles et ceux qui ont connu Martine Doytier et dont les souvenirs sont importants pour écrire la véritable histoire de cette artiste de façon la plus documentée et pertinente possible afin d’éclairer à la fois son œuvre et sa vie si riche et engagée.
Une publication, livre ou catalogue, complètera l’exposition des œuvres et des documents, tous inédits, qui ont aidé à la préparation des œuvres et qui en enrichiront la compréhension : croquis, dessins, notes manuscrites, documents de référence, photographies des états en cours, objets, etc.
Avec Alain Amiel, auteur et éditeur, Bertrand Roussel, directeur des musées d'Archéologie de Nice, et tous ceux qui nous rejoignent en adhérant à l'association Les Ami.es de Martine Doytier, nous allons faire en sorte de donner à cette œuvre la place qu’elle mérite dans l’Histoire de l’Art.
Vous allez donc entendre parler des « Ami.es de Martine Doytier » !
Mais, surtout, vous aller entendre parler de Martine Doytier !
Marc Sanchez
septembre 2020

Pour en savoir plus sur « Les Ami.es de Martine Doytier »
ou pour adhérer à l'association,
cliquez ici


Espace presse

> Documents presse à télécharger :
- Communiqué de presse en pdf (contenu identique à cette page)
- Texte du communiqué de presse au format Word
> Photographies sur demande à :
- catalogue.martinedoytier@gmail.com
- +33 6 08 91 56 24

> Page suivante

 

 

 

 

Martine Doytier en 1977. Photo DR.
Martine Doytier, Éléphants à l'Abbaye
de Roseland
, 1983, huile sur toile.
Collection privée, Nice.
Martine Doytier, Autoportrait,
1980-1984, huile sur toile, détail.
Martine Doytier lors de son exposition
à la galerie L'Art Marginal à Nice,
20 février 1977. Photo DR.
Martine Doytier au travail en 1976.
Photo Marc Sanchez.
Martine Doytier lors de la remise
des Prix de la Fondation de la Vocation,
Paris, 6 décembre 1977. Photo DR.
Martine Doytier et le tableau utilisé
pour réaliser l'affiche du Carnaval de Nice en 1981. Photo DR.